International Workshop on
Very Low Bitrate Video Coding
Theme: Visual Content Analysis and Coding

October 8-9, 1998
Urbana, IL, USA


Purpose of Workshop

The purpose of this workshop is to provide an international forum for the discussion of video representation and coding techniques being developed for MPEG-4, MPEG-7, and beyond. Applications include videophone, teleconferencing and telecollaboration, video over ATM, wireless, and the Internet, interactive multimedia databases, remote sensing and surveillance, and communication aids for the hearing impaired. To focus discussions, we have selected as the main theme of this workshop: Visual Content Analysis and Coding. Topics of special interest include

Format of Workshop

To facilitate the exchange of ideas and to maximize discussion, the workshop will consist of a number of invited panels. Contributed papers will be presented as posters.

Time and Venue of Workshop

This two-day workshop is scheduled right after the IEEE International Conference on Image Processing, Chicago; and will be held at the Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. The tentative schedule is available from here.

International Steering Committee

Kiyo Aizawa, Univ. of Tokyo, Japan
Leonardo Chiariglione, CSELT, Italy
Nariman Farvardin, Univ. of Maryland, USA
Robert Forchheimer, Linköping Univ., Sweden
Barry Haskell, AT&T Research Labs, USA
Yoshimori Hatori, KDD, Japan
Thomas Huang (Chair), Univ. of Illinois, USA
Nikil Jayant, Lucent Tech. Bell Labs, USA
Murat Kunt, EPFL, Switzerland
Michael Lee, Univ. of Western Australia, Australia
Hans Musmann, Univ. of Hannover, Germany
Don Pearson, Univ. of Essex, UK
Fernando Pereira, Inst. Sup. Tec., Portugal
Philippe Salembier, Univ. Poli. Cata., Spain
Ibrahim Sezan, Sharp Labs, USA
Peter Stucki, Univ. of Zurich, Switzerland

Keynote Speech

"Digital Video: From VLBR to High Definition - Technologies, Standards, and Markets"
Dr. Ya-Qin Zhang
Director, Multimedia Technology Laboratory
Sarnoff Corporation

Panel Topics:
Panel 1 -  Image/video feature extraction and segmentation
B. Manjunath, UC Santa Barbara (chair)
Munchurl Kim, Electronics and Telecommunication Research Institute
Murat Kunt, EPFL
Narendra Ahuja, U. Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Atul Puri , AT&T Labs - Research
Panel 2 -  Video representation, coding, indexing
Wayne Wolf, Princeton U. (chair)
S. Panchanathan, Arizona State U.
Fernando Perira, Tech. Inst., Lisbon
Murat Tekalp, U. Rochester
Shih-Fu Chang, Columbia U.
Panel 3 -  3D modeling (inc. face) and VR
Robert Forchheimer, Linkoping U. (chair)
Eric Petajan, Lucent Technologies Bell Labs
Joern Ostermann, AT&T Labs-Research
                Keith Waters, Compaq Cambridge Research Lab 
Panel 4 -  Applications
HongJiang Zhang, HP Labs (chair)
Nevenka Dimitrova, Philips Research
Behzad Shahraray, AT&T Labs-Research
Ibrahim Sezan, Sharp Labs of America
Ya-Qin Zhang, Sarnoff Corp.
Panel 5 -  MPEG-7 issues
Ibrahim Sezan, Sharp Labs of America (chair)
V. V. Vinod, KRDL
Adam Lindsay, Riverland Research
Philippe Salembier, UPC
H. J. Zhang, HP Labs 
Submission Procedure

Prospective contributors are invited to submit for consideration 4 copies of a summary of at least 2 pages and no more than 4 pages to:

Paper submission May 1, 1998
Notification of acceptance June 15, 1998
Camera-ready paper, 4 pages September 1, 1998

Registration and Registration Fee

All participants must register for the workshop. Registration is limited to 100. The registration of participants who are neither panelists nor poster presenters will be accepted on a first-come, first-served basis. The deadline is June 22, 1998.

The registration fee is $250 ($150 for students). Checks must be made out to the University of Illinois. (We cannot accept credit cards.)

Please print out the registration form, fill it out, and mail it with your check to:

Hotel Information

October 9-10 is a big 10 football weekend. All hotels will be filled. Hotel reservation of VLBV attendees must be made by July 15, 1998. For hotel information, please see here.

Information for Authors

List of Accepted Papers

This web page is maintained by Ashutosh,
Last Updated: June 21, 1998